Step 4 – TIPS: When psychosocial disability is not your ‘primary’ disability

To access the NDIS, you must have a disability because of one or more intellectual, cognitive, neurological, sensory or physical impairments or one or more impairments due to a mental health condition.

If you live with multiple disabilities, the NDIA will consider these together when deciding whether you meet the disability requirement.

People with other types of disability are more likely to experience psychosocial disability than the general population. Yet, identifying and responding to this  can be complex.

If you experience impairments due to more than one disability, you still need to demonstrate the impact of each on your day-to-day living, such as in: 

  • Mobility/motor skills
  • Communication
  • Social interaction
  • Learning
  • Self-care
  • Self-management

Although the NDIA will request information about your primary disability, they may not be aware of how your psychosocial disability affects your other disability(ies), or the impact both have on you day-to-day.  

You will need to show:

  1. How your primary disability and psychosocial disability interact
  2. The impact they each have on you, and,
  3. Any specialised services or skills needed to support you.   

So, you will need to provide evidence of your primary disability.  But you will also need to provide evidence of your psychosocial disability.  


Useful links

To help support your application to the NDIS download the Reimagine Your Life Workbook

As you explore the 6 steps to accessing the NDIS, you will be guided to activities in the Reimagine Your Life Workbook, where you can complete questions and activities to support your application.

Co-designed with people living with mental health conditions and their support networks.
  • Produced by the

  • Funded by the

Accessing the ndis in 6 Steps.